Monday, July 2nd, 2012

Today’s featured herbalist is Rebecca Altman of King’s Road Apothecary. Rebecca resides in of Los Angeles, CA, where she enjoys spending her time wandering the medicine filled drylands of the desert.

We have been long time fans of Rebecca’s blog: www.cauldronsandcrockpots.com where she discusses food, the beauty of Southern California, and using herbs for medicinal purposes and feel blessed to have her in our community of Poppy Swap herbalists! Here’s the inside scoop on what makes her tick and what makes her products so special.

What was your first inspiration to become an herbalist? How have you learned about herbal medicine?

As with a lot of people, I started learning about herbs after I got really sick. After 4 years on a cocktail of medications, I wasn’t getting any better, so I decided to figure it out myself. During this time I was lucky enough to meet a man, a herbalist, who took me under his wing. He taught me how to read tongues and pulses, and taught me how to read people. I was living out in the desert at the time, and would spend my mornings hiking before going in to work. I’d be surrounded by plants in the morning, and learning to diagnose and treat people all afternoon. It was an incredibly healing and productive time in my life. Even after that, I didn’t actually think of myself as wanting to devote my life to plant matter. I wanted to be an artist. I was so focused on becoming an artist that even though I’d spend all my spare time reading about herbs and learning about the human body, and gathering plants and testing them on anybody I could, I didn’t see it until years later! Of course, by that time I had been studying and sort-of-practicing for years… I decided, instead of pursuing an MA in art, to go to Chinese Medical school. I actually completed 3 years of a 4 year program but couldn’t get into it. I love Western herbs. I love wandering the mountains and gathering plants and being able to see where things grow and use