Tuesday, May 1st, 2012

We had the chance to learn about Kristi during our adventures to Eugene, OR last winter. She toasted the herbalists of our community with her amazing holiday spirit by organizing an herbalist gift exchange. Her contributions to the event included some of her top shelf elixirs that left a lingering buzz. With the publishing of her new book: Brew Your Medicine, we decided it was time to find out what she is all about!

What was your first inspiration to become an herbalist? How have you learned about herbal medicine?
For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to strengthen my relationship with plants. In college, I earned a degree in Molecular Biology and Anthropology, because I wanted that kind of background and because that was the closest thing my college offered. It was later that I began studying herbal medicine. I even took a few Chinese language courses, because I have always been interested in Traditional Chinese Medicine.  I then spent several months studying and working at a local herbal apothecary. Now I am halfway through my professional studies at the East West School of Planetary Herbalism. I am really loving it.

How are herbs in your life today?

Just about every aspect of my life involves plants. I teach anyone who will listen about herbs and energetics. I have helped many friends and family members with complaints. And when they find relief with a ‘simple’ herbal formula, many doors are opened.
One of my philosophies of healing is to interweave these herbs into as many aspects of your life as possible. I rarely just hand someone a tea or tincture blend and leave it at that. I love coming up with creative ideas about cooking, baking, fermenting, and yes, beermaking!
Tell us the inspiration behind your herbal beers?