Sunday, February 19th, 2012

Welcome to our Green Journey!
Medicinal Herb Seeds Organically Grown & Small Farm Direct. Favorite Flowers & Unusual Edibles for Home Gardeners. Open pollinated, Public domain Seeds, No GMOs.

Green Journey Seeds are organically grown on a small farm nestled in the foothills of Oregon’s Coast Range. Seed growers, Steve Trimmell & Aline Crehore, have dedicated themselves to saving seeds, a natural extension of their love of plants and farming. Poppy Swap asked Aline to share more of their inspiring story.

Tell us a little about your background and where you learned about plants, seeds, and seed saving?

Steve & I came together in 1990, when I was a freelance graphic artist in Eugene. We both like natural foods, gardening, hiking, reading non-fiction & poetry, listening to music & dancing. He is a country person and loves the earth deeply, and we share a keen interest in herbs and holistic medicine. We moved to our present location a couple of years later, and I realized my dream of living in the country. Here we built gardens with deer fences, a chicken house and a solar greenhouse, and started experimenting to see what we could grow in this place.

Green Journey began as a small plant nursery in the early 90’s. With a lot of hands on practice and careful research, we learned to grow many kinds of herbs. We joined the Farmer’s Market and sold a variety of plants and starts to our community for about 4 years. We developed a niche market for rare & useful plants from around the world.

Seeds have always been essential to this pursuit. Many times seeds were the only plant propagation material available. At home, we were growing the nursery stock out and learning to save the seeds. We learned through observation, by trial and error, and the seeds taught us their wonderful ways. When questions arose, we were graciously guided by other seed savers.